Galaxy Buds Core vs Galaxy Buds3 FE
Only the differences are shown. 3 specs stay the same.
+0you gain
−0you give up
Galaxy Buds Core came out in June 2025. Galaxy Buds3 FE came out in September 2025.
Note on Galaxy Buds Core: Launch date June 27, 2025 (Samsung India). Not sold on samsung.com US.
Note on Galaxy Buds3 FE: Announced August 18, 2025; on sale progressively from September 5, 2025.
Audio
No → 360 Audio
Speakers: 1-way dynamic driver, SSC, AAC, SBC, 3 mics
Battery & charging
35 hours → 24 hours
Design & durability
5.3 g → 5 g each earbud
Blade design, Controls: Pinch the blade, swipe for volume, Sensors: Proximity, Hall, touch, pressure, IP54 (earbuds only) +1 more
Price check
Galaxy Buds3 FE launched at $149.99
Phone & features2 changes · 2 unconfirmed
Phone needed
Not stated by Samsung›Android 11.0 or higher with more than 1.5GB of memory. Some features may not be available on non-Samsung devices.
What does this mean?
The phones Samsung says the earbuds work with, in its own words: usually an Android phone with more than 1.5GB of memory.
Samsung notes that some features may not be available on phones made by other companies.
Matters most if: Your phone is not a Samsung Galaxy.
App
Galaxy Wearable›Galaxy Wearable (Samsung Account required); One UI 8.0+ phones use phone settings
What does this mean?
The app Samsung names for the earbuds' settings, usually Galaxy Wearable on Android.
On newer Galaxy phones the settings are built into the phone, so the app is not needed there.
Galaxy AI
Interpreter (with a Galaxy phone)›Interpreter and Live Translate with compatible Galaxy devices; Gemini voice wake-up (One UI 8.0+)
What does this mean?
The Galaxy AI features Samsung names for the earbuds, such as Interpreter, Live Translate or talking to an AI assistant.
Samsung says these need a compatible Samsung Galaxy phone.
Matters most if: You have a recent Galaxy phone and want translation or voice assistants in your ears.
Auto Switch
Not stated by Samsung›Yes (Galaxy phones/tablets One UI 3.1+, Galaxy Watch4+)
What does this mean?
Samsung's Auto Switch moves the earbuds' connection between your Samsung Galaxy devices, for example from your tablet to your phone when a call comes in.
It works only between Galaxy devices: Samsung names Galaxy phones and tablets with One UI 3.1 or later, and Galaxy Watch4 or later.
With an iPhone
Not stated by Samsung (for both)
What does this mean?
Samsung says Galaxy Buds connect to an iPhone (iPhone 5 or later with iOS 9 or later) by Bluetooth only; iPad and iPod touch are not supported. Only Galaxy Buds+ and Galaxy Buds Live had a Galaxy Buds app for iPhone.
You can listen to music and take calls, but features that need Samsung's app or a Galaxy phone are not there.
Matters most if: You use an iPhone.
Price1 unconfirmed
Price check
Galaxy Buds3 FE — launched at $149.99
What your Galaxy Buds Core sells for
- Sold listings on eBay
eBay may ask you to sign in to see sold prices.
Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.
Starting price
No US price from Samsung›$149.99
Audio4 changes
Speakers
1-way›1-way dynamic driver (11mm)
What does this mean?
The speakers in each earbud, as Samsung describes them. "1-way" is one speaker; "2-way" adds a small tweeter for high notes next to the woofer for low notes.
Speaker size alone does not tell you how the earbuds sound: fit and tuning matter as much.
360 Audio
No›360 Audio (One UI 3.1+); no head tracking
What does this mean?
Samsung's 360 Audio places sound around you, as in a cinema; with head tracking it stays in place when you turn your head.
Samsung says it needs a Samsung Galaxy phone or tablet with One UI 3.1 or later, and video or music made for it.
Matters most if: You watch films on a Galaxy phone or tablet.
Codecs
AAC, SBC, Scalable Codec›SSC, AAC, SBC
What does this mean?
The ways sound is compressed to travel over Bluetooth. SBC and AAC work with most phones; Samsung's SSC codecs only with Samsung Galaxy devices; LC3 is the codec of Bluetooth LE Audio.
The phone and the earbuds use a codec they both support, so the list matters most with a Galaxy phone.
Microphones
6 (3 per earbud)›3 mics
Hi-Fi audio
Not stated by Samsung (for both)
What does this mean?
Samsung's higher-resolution sound over Bluetooth: 24-bit Hi-Fi, and SSC UHQ up to 24-bit/96kHz on newer models.
It works only with the Galaxy phones and tablets Samsung lists, and only with music files of that quality.
LE Audio
Not stated by Samsung (for both)
What does this mean?
Bluetooth LE Audio, the newer kind of Bluetooth sound, with the LC3 codec, and Auracast, which lets one device send sound to many listeners.
Samsung notes it depends on the phone or other device you pair with.
Bluetooth
5.4 (same on both)
Battery & charging1 change · 8 unconfirmed
Music playback
Not stated by Samsung›6 hours
Samsung gives Galaxy Buds Core's time as a total with the case, from Samsung India, without saying whether ANC was on and Galaxy Buds3 FE's time with ANC on, so the two were not measured the same way.
What does this mean?
How long the earbuds play music on one charge, from Samsung's internal testing. For models with ANC, Samsung's time is with ANC on.
Volume, codec and features such as 360 Audio change the time you actually get.
Music playback with the case
35 hours›24 hours
Samsung gives Galaxy Buds Core's time as a total with the case, from Samsung India, without saying whether ANC was on and Galaxy Buds3 FE's time with ANC on, so the two were not measured the same way.
What does this mean?
The total music time including the recharges the case gives, from Samsung's internal testing.
Put the earbuds back in the case during breaks and they recharge.
Music playback, ANC off
Not stated by Samsung›8.5 hours
Samsung's test conditions: internal testing, ANC on by default.
Music playback, ANC off, with the case
Not stated by Samsung›30 hours
Samsung's test conditions: internal testing, ANC on by default.
Talk time
Not stated by Samsung›4 hours
Samsung gives Galaxy Buds Core's time as a total with the case, from Samsung India, without saying whether ANC was on and Galaxy Buds3 FE's time with ANC on, so the two were not measured the same way.
What does this mean?
How long you can talk on calls on one charge, from Samsung's internal testing.
Calls use the microphones as well, so talk time is shorter than music time.
Talk time with the case
Not stated by Samsung›18 hours
Samsung gives Galaxy Buds Core's time as a total with the case, from Samsung India, without saying whether ANC was on and Galaxy Buds3 FE's time with ANC on, so the two were not measured the same way.
Battery capacity, each earbud
Not stated by Samsung›53 mAh
Typical capacity. Rated capacity: Galaxy Buds3 FE 50 mAh.
What does this mean?
The typical capacity of each earbud's battery, in mAh. On newer models Samsung also gives a lower rated capacity, shown under the row.
Capacity alone does not give the hours: the chip and features matter too. The battery life rows are the better guide.
Battery capacity, case
Not stated by Samsung›515 mAh
Typical capacity. Rated capacity: Galaxy Buds3 FE 500 mAh.
Charging
USB-C›Not stated by Samsung
Design & durability9 changes
Fit and design
In-ear with wing tip›Blade design
Controls
Touch›Pinch the blade, swipe for volume
Sensors
Hall, proximity, touch›Proximity, Hall, touch, pressure
Water resistance
IP54›IP54 (earbuds only)
What does this mean?
How well the earbuds resist sweat and water, as an IP rating in Samsung's words. The second figure is for water: IPX2 is dripping water, IP54 splashes from any direction, IP57 and IPX7 a short dip in water.
Samsung's rating covers the earbuds, not the case.
Matters most if: You exercise with them or use them in the rain.
Weight, each earbud
5.3 g›5 g−0.3 g
Weight, case
31.2 g›41.8 g+10.6 g
Size, each earbud
19.2 x 17.1 x 22.2 mm›18.0 x 21.1 x 33.8 (without eartips) mm
Size, case
50.0 x 50.0 x 27.7 mm›58.9 x 48.7 x 24.4 mm
Colors
Black, White›Black, Gray
Finding & health1 unconfirmed
Finding lost earbuds
Samsung Find (offline finding in Galaxy Wearable)›Not stated by Samsung
What does this mean?
How Samsung says you can find lost earbuds, for example with Samsung Find.
The row gives the app or service Samsung names for each model.
Health features
Not stated by Samsung (for both)