Device Diff

Galaxy Buds comparisons

Galaxy Buds Pro vs Galaxy Buds4 Pro

Only the differences are shown. 2 specs stay the same.

+0you gain

−0you give up

Galaxy Buds Pro came out in January 2021. Galaxy Buds4 Pro came out in March 2026, over 5 years later.

Note on Galaxy Buds Pro: Available January 14, 2021 on Samsung.com US.

Note on Galaxy Buds4 Pro: Announced February 25, 2026; on sale March 11, 2026. A footnote in the same release says advanced settings need Android 10+, which conflicts with the Android 12 row.

Noise control

Enhanced Adaptive ANC

Before: Intelligent ANC · Voice Detect: Voice Detect, Siren Detect

Audio

360 Audio is different

Battery & charging

6 hours

Before: Not stated by Samsung

Design & durability

IPX7 → IP57

Fit and design: Canal-fit, Buds blade design

Price check

Galaxy Buds4 Pro launched at $249

Phone & features1 change · 3 unconfirmed
  • Phone needed

    Not stated by Samsung›Android 12 or higher with more than 1.5GB of memory. Some features may not be available on non-Samsung devices.

    What does this mean?

    The phones Samsung says the earbuds work with, in its own words: usually an Android phone with more than 1.5GB of memory.

    Samsung notes that some features may not be available on phones made by other companies.

    Matters most if: Your phone is not a Samsung Galaxy.

  • App

    Galaxy Wearable›Galaxy Wearable for advanced settings (Galaxy phones can connect without it)

    What does this mean?

    The app Samsung names for the earbuds' settings, usually Galaxy Wearable on Android.

    On newer Galaxy phones the settings are built into the phone, so the app is not needed there.

  • Galaxy AI

    Not stated by Samsung›Voice access to AI agents (Bixby, Gemini, Perplexity) with a compatible Galaxy phone

    What does this mean?

    The Galaxy AI features Samsung names for the earbuds, such as Interpreter, Live Translate or talking to an AI assistant.

    Samsung says these need a compatible Samsung Galaxy phone.

    Matters most if: You have a recent Galaxy phone and want translation or voice assistants in your ears.

  • Auto Switch

    Not stated by Samsung›Yes (Galaxy devices)

    What does this mean?

    Samsung's Auto Switch moves the earbuds' connection between your Samsung Galaxy devices, for example from your tablet to your phone when a call comes in.

    It works only between Galaxy devices: Samsung names Galaxy phones and tablets with One UI 3.1 or later, and Galaxy Watch4 or later.

Price1 change

Price check

Galaxy Buds4 Pro — launched at $249

What your Galaxy Buds Pro sells for

Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.

  • Starting price

    $199.99›$249+$49.01

Noise control2 changes
  • Active noise canceling (ANC)

    Intelligent ANC (UL verified: up to 99% at 118.43Hz)›ANC, Adaptive ANC (Enhanced Adaptive ANC/EQ)

    What does this mean?

    Active noise canceling (ANC) uses microphones to cancel steady background noise, such as an airplane engine. Adaptive ANC changes the level to suit the sound around you.

    Samsung gives battery times with ANC on and off: with it on, the battery runs down sooner.

    Matters most if: You commute, fly or work somewhere noisy.

    More in the glossary →

  • Voice Detect

    Voice Detect›Voice Detect, Siren Detect

    What does this mean?

    Voice Detect lowers your music and lets outside sound in when you start talking. Siren Detect does the same when the earbuds pick up a siren.

    You can answer someone without touching the earbuds.

Audio1 change · 6 unconfirmed
  • Speakers

    Not stated by Samsung›2-way: 11mm woofer + 5.5 x 3.5mm tweeter; dual amplifier

    What does this mean?

    The speakers in each earbud, as Samsung describes them. "1-way" is one speaker; "2-way" adds a small tweeter for high notes next to the woofer for low notes.

    Speaker size alone does not tell you how the earbuds sound: fit and tuning matter as much.

  • 360 Audio

    360 Audio›360 Audio with Direct Multi-Channel (Galaxy devices with One UI 3.1+; Direct Multi-Channel One UI 4.1.1+)

    What does this mean?

    Samsung's 360 Audio places sound around you, as in a cinema; with head tracking it stays in place when you turn your head.

    Samsung says it needs a Samsung Galaxy phone or tablet with One UI 3.1 or later, and video or music made for it.

    Matters most if: You watch films on a Galaxy phone or tablet.

  • Hi-Fi audio

    Not stated by Samsung›UHQ up to 24-bit/96kHz (listed Galaxy devices with One UI 6.1.1+)

    What does this mean?

    Samsung's higher-resolution sound over Bluetooth: 24-bit Hi-Fi, and SSC UHQ up to 24-bit/96kHz on newer models.

    It works only with the Galaxy phones and tablets Samsung lists, and only with music files of that quality.

    More in the glossary →

  • Codecs

    Not stated by Samsung›SSC HiFi, SSC UHQ, AAC, SBC, LC3

    What does this mean?

    The ways sound is compressed to travel over Bluetooth. SBC and AAC work with most phones; Samsung's SSC codecs only with Samsung Galaxy devices; LC3 is the codec of Bluetooth LE Audio.

    The phone and the earbuds use a codec they both support, so the list matters most with a Galaxy phone.

    More in the glossary →

  • LE Audio

    Not stated by Samsung›LC3 (depends on the paired device); Auracast

    What does this mean?

    Bluetooth LE Audio, the newer kind of Bluetooth sound, with the LC3 codec, and Auracast, which lets one device send sound to many listeners.

    Samsung notes it depends on the phone or other device you pair with.

    More in the glossary →

  • Bluetooth

    Not stated by Samsung›6.1

  • Microphones

    Not stated by Samsung›HSNR digital x2, digital x1 (per earbud)

Battery & charging8 unconfirmed
  • Music playback

    Not stated by Samsung›6 hours

    Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.

    What does this mean?

    How long the earbuds play music on one charge, from Samsung's internal testing. For models with ANC, Samsung's time is with ANC on.

    Volume, codec and features such as 360 Audio change the time you actually get.

  • Music playback with the case

    Not stated by Samsung›26 hours

    Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.

    What does this mean?

    The total music time including the recharges the case gives, from Samsung's internal testing.

    Put the earbuds back in the case during breaks and they recharge.

  • Music playback, ANC off

    Not stated by Samsung›7 hours

    Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.

  • Music playback, ANC off, with the case

    Not stated by Samsung›30 hours

    Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.

  • Talk time

    Not stated by Samsung›4.5 hours

    Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.

    What does this mean?

    How long you can talk on calls on one charge, from Samsung's internal testing.

    Calls use the microphones as well, so talk time is shorter than music time.

  • Talk time with the case

    Not stated by Samsung›20 hours

    Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.

  • Battery capacity, each earbud

    Not stated by Samsung›61 mAh

    Typical capacity. Rated capacity: Galaxy Buds4 Pro 57 mAh.

    What does this mean?

    The typical capacity of each earbud's battery, in mAh. On newer models Samsung also gives a lower rated capacity, shown under the row.

    Capacity alone does not give the hours: the chip and features matter too. The battery life rows are the better guide.

  • Battery capacity, case

    Not stated by Samsung›530 mAh

    Typical capacity. Rated capacity: Galaxy Buds4 Pro 515 mAh.

Design & durability3 changes · 6 unconfirmed
  • Fit and design

    In-ear›Canal-fit, Buds blade design

  • Controls

    Not stated by Samsung›Pinch, swipe, Head Gesture (off by default)

  • Sensors

    Not stated by Samsung›Voice Pickup Unit, Force & Touch (swipe), SWIR, accelerometer, gyro, Hall

  • Water resistance

    IPX7›IP57 (earbuds only; case is not water resistant)

    What does this mean?

    How well the earbuds resist sweat and water, as an IP rating in Samsung's words. The second figure is for water: IPX2 is dripping water, IP54 splashes from any direction, IP57 and IPX7 a short dip in water.

    Samsung's rating covers the earbuds, not the case.

    Matters most if: You exercise with them or use them in the rain.

  • Weight, each earbud

    Not stated by Samsung›5.1 g

  • Weight, case

    Not stated by Samsung›44.3 g

  • Size, each earbud

    Not stated by Samsung›18.1 x 19.6 x 30.9 mm

  • Size, case

    Not stated by Samsung›51 x 51 x 28.3 mm

  • Colors

    Phantom Black, Phantom Silver, Phantom Violet›Black, White, Pink Gold (online only)

Swap in a different Galaxy Buds