Galaxy Buds2 Pro vs Galaxy Buds4 Pro
Only the differences are shown. 3 specs stay the same.
+1you gain
−1you give up
Galaxy Buds2 Pro came out in August 2022. Galaxy Buds4 Pro came out in March 2026, almost 4 years later.
Note on Galaxy Buds2 Pro: Pre-order August 10, 2022; in stores August 26, 2022 (US).
Note on Galaxy Buds4 Pro: Announced February 25, 2026; on sale March 11, 2026. A footnote in the same release says advanced settings need Android 10+, which conflicts with the Android 12 row.
Noise control
Enhanced Adaptive ANC
Before: ANC · Voice Detect: Voice Detect, Siren Detect
Audio
Speakers is different
360 Audio: 360 Audio with Direct Multi-Channel, Hi-Fi audio: UHQ up to 24-bit/96kHz, Codecs: SSC HiFi, SSC UHQ, AAC, SBC, LC3, Microphones: HSNR digital x2, digital x1
Battery & charging
+1 hour
5 h → 6 h music playback
Design & durability
IPX7 → IP57
Fit and design: Canal-fit, Buds blade design, 5.1 g each earbud, 44.3 g case
Price check
Galaxy Buds4 Pro launched at $249
Phone & features1 change · 3 unconfirmed
Phone needed
Not stated by Samsung›Android 12 or higher with more than 1.5GB of memory. Some features may not be available on non-Samsung devices.
What does this mean?
The phones Samsung says the earbuds work with, in its own words: usually an Android phone with more than 1.5GB of memory.
Samsung notes that some features may not be available on phones made by other companies.
Matters most if: Your phone is not a Samsung Galaxy.
App
Galaxy Wearable›Galaxy Wearable for advanced settings (Galaxy phones can connect without it)
What does this mean?
The app Samsung names for the earbuds' settings, usually Galaxy Wearable on Android.
On newer Galaxy phones the settings are built into the phone, so the app is not needed there.
Galaxy AI
Not stated by Samsung›Voice access to AI agents (Bixby, Gemini, Perplexity) with a compatible Galaxy phone
What does this mean?
The Galaxy AI features Samsung names for the earbuds, such as Interpreter, Live Translate or talking to an AI assistant.
Samsung says these need a compatible Samsung Galaxy phone.
Matters most if: You have a recent Galaxy phone and want translation or voice assistants in your ears.
Auto Switch
Not stated by Samsung›Yes (Galaxy devices)
What does this mean?
Samsung's Auto Switch moves the earbuds' connection between your Samsung Galaxy devices, for example from your tablet to your phone when a call comes in.
It works only between Galaxy devices: Samsung names Galaxy phones and tablets with One UI 3.1 or later, and Galaxy Watch4 or later.
With an iPhone
Bluetooth only (same on both)
What does this mean?
Samsung says Galaxy Buds connect to an iPhone (iPhone 5 or later with iOS 9 or later) by Bluetooth only; iPad and iPod touch are not supported. Only Galaxy Buds+ and Galaxy Buds Live had a Galaxy Buds app for iPhone.
You can listen to music and take calls, but features that need Samsung's app or a Galaxy phone are not there.
Matters most if: You use an iPhone.
Price1 change
Price check
Galaxy Buds4 Pro — launched at $249
What your Galaxy Buds2 Pro sells for
- Sold listings on eBay
eBay may ask you to sign in to see sold prices.
Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.
Starting price
$229.99›$249+$19.01
Noise control2 changes
Active noise canceling (ANC)
ANC›ANC, Adaptive ANC (Enhanced Adaptive ANC/EQ)
What does this mean?
Active noise canceling (ANC) uses microphones to cancel steady background noise, such as an airplane engine. Adaptive ANC changes the level to suit the sound around you.
Samsung gives battery times with ANC on and off: with it on, the battery runs down sooner.
Matters most if: You commute, fly or work somewhere noisy.
Voice Detect
Voice Detect›Voice Detect, Siren Detect
What does this mean?
Voice Detect lowers your music and lets outside sound in when you start talking. Siren Detect does the same when the earbuds pick up a siren.
You can answer someone without touching the earbuds.
Ambient sound
Ambient sound (same on both)
What does this mean?
Ambient sound lets outside sound in through the microphones, so you can hear people and traffic without taking the earbuds out.
Useful for a quick chat, an announcement or walking along a busy road.
Audio5 changes · 2 unconfirmed
Speakers
2-way speaker›2-way: 11mm woofer + 5.5 x 3.5mm tweeter; dual amplifier
What does this mean?
The speakers in each earbud, as Samsung describes them. "1-way" is one speaker; "2-way" adds a small tweeter for high notes next to the woofer for low notes.
Speaker size alone does not tell you how the earbuds sound: fit and tuning matter as much.
360 Audio
360 Audio with Direct Multi-Channel›360 Audio with Direct Multi-Channel (Galaxy devices with One UI 3.1+; Direct Multi-Channel One UI 4.1.1+)
What does this mean?
Samsung's 360 Audio places sound around you, as in a cinema; with head tracking it stays in place when you turn your head.
Samsung says it needs a Samsung Galaxy phone or tablet with One UI 3.1 or later, and video or music made for it.
Matters most if: You watch films on a Galaxy phone or tablet.
Hi-Fi audio
24-bit Hi-Fi (Galaxy devices with One UI 4.0+)›UHQ up to 24-bit/96kHz (listed Galaxy devices with One UI 6.1.1+)
What does this mean?
Samsung's higher-resolution sound over Bluetooth: 24-bit Hi-Fi, and SSC UHQ up to 24-bit/96kHz on newer models.
It works only with the Galaxy phones and tablets Samsung lists, and only with music files of that quality.
Codecs
SSC HiFi, AAC, SBC›SSC HiFi, SSC UHQ, AAC, SBC, LC3
What does this mean?
The ways sound is compressed to travel over Bluetooth. SBC and AAC work with most phones; Samsung's SSC codecs only with Samsung Galaxy devices; LC3 is the codec of Bluetooth LE Audio.
The phone and the earbuds use a codec they both support, so the list matters most with a Galaxy phone.
LE Audio
Not stated by Samsung›LC3 (depends on the paired device); Auracast
What does this mean?
Bluetooth LE Audio, the newer kind of Bluetooth sound, with the LC3 codec, and Auracast, which lets one device send sound to many listeners.
Samsung notes it depends on the phone or other device you pair with.
Bluetooth
Not stated by Samsung›6.1
Microphones
3 high-SNR microphones›HSNR digital x2, digital x1 (per earbud)
Battery & charging1 gain · 1 loss · 1 change · 4 unconfirmed
Music playback
5 hours›6 hours+1 hour
Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.
What does this mean?
How long the earbuds play music on one charge, from Samsung's internal testing. For models with ANC, Samsung's time is with ANC on.
Volume, codec and features such as 360 Audio change the time you actually get.
Music playback with the case
Not stated by Samsung›26 hours
Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.
What does this mean?
The total music time including the recharges the case gives, from Samsung's internal testing.
Put the earbuds back in the case during breaks and they recharge.
Music playback, ANC off
8 hours›7 hours−1 hour
Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.
Music playback, ANC off, with the case
Not stated by Samsung›30 hours
Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.
Talk time
Not stated by Samsung›4.5 hours
Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.
What does this mean?
How long you can talk on calls on one charge, from Samsung's internal testing.
Calls use the microphones as well, so talk time is shorter than music time.
Talk time with the case
Not stated by Samsung›20 hours
Samsung's test conditions: internal testing: pre-production unit paired to a recent Galaxy phone, default settings with ANC on.
Battery capacity, case
515 mAh or 500 mAh (Samsung's pages differ)›530 mAh
Typical capacity. Rated capacity: Galaxy Buds4 Pro 515 mAh.
Battery capacity, each earbud
61 mAh (same on both)
Typical capacity. Rated capacity: Galaxy Buds4 Pro 57 mAh.
What does this mean?
The typical capacity of each earbud's battery, in mAh. On newer models Samsung also gives a lower rated capacity, shown under the row.
Capacity alone does not give the hours: the chip and features matter too. The battery life rows are the better guide.
Charging
Not stated by Samsung (for both)
Design & durability7 changes · 2 unconfirmed
Fit and design
In-ear›Canal-fit, Buds blade design
Controls
Not stated by Samsung›Pinch, swipe, Head Gesture (off by default)
Sensors
Not stated by Samsung›Voice Pickup Unit, Force & Touch (swipe), SWIR, accelerometer, gyro, Hall
Water resistance
IPX7 (earbuds)›IP57 (earbuds only; case is not water resistant)
What does this mean?
How well the earbuds resist sweat and water, as an IP rating in Samsung's words. The second figure is for water: IPX2 is dripping water, IP54 splashes from any direction, IP57 and IPX7 a short dip in water.
Samsung's rating covers the earbuds, not the case.
Matters most if: You exercise with them or use them in the rain.
Weight, each earbud
5.5 g›5.1 g−0.4 g
Weight, case
43.4 g›44.3 g+0.9 g
Size, each earbud
19.9 x 21.6 x 18.7 mm›18.1 x 19.6 x 30.9 mm
Size, case
50.1 x 50.2 x 27.7 mm›51 x 51 x 28.3 mm
Colors
Graphite, White, Bora Purple›Black, White, Pink Gold (online only)