Galaxy Buds3 vs Galaxy Buds4
Only the differences are shown. 11 specs stay the same.
+0you gain
−0you give up
Galaxy Buds3 came out in July 2024. Galaxy Buds4 came out in March 2026, almost 2 years later.
Note on Galaxy Buds3: Samsung US support lists 43mAh for the earbud battery (conflicts with the newsroom's 48mAh typical / 45mAh rated).
Note on Galaxy Buds4: Samsung's spec table lists Adaptive ANC; a footnote says Enhanced Adaptive ANC/EQ is on Buds4 Pro.
Noise control
Worded differently
Active noise canceling
Audio
Bluetooth 5.4 → 6.1
Speakers: 1-way 11mm, Hi-Fi audio: UHQ up to 24-bit/96kHz, Codecs: SSC HiFi, SSC UHQ, AAC, SBC, LC3, Digital x3 (per earbud)
Battery & charging
Same rating
5 h → 5 h music playback
Design & durability
IP57 → IP54
Fit and design: Open-fit, Buds blade design, Sensors: VPU, Force & Touch, IR, accelerometer, gyro, Hall, 4.6 g each earbud, 45.1 g case
Price check
Galaxy Buds4 launched at $179
All 22 differences
Phone & features3 changes
Phone needed
Android 10 or higher with more than 1.5GB of memory. Some features may not be available on non-Samsung devices.›Android 12 or higher with more than 1.5GB of memory. Some features may not be available on non-Samsung devices.
What does this mean?
The phones Samsung says the earbuds work with, in its own words: usually an Android phone with more than 1.5GB of memory.
Samsung notes that some features may not be available on phones made by other companies.
Matters most if: Your phone is not a Samsung Galaxy.
App
Galaxy Wearable›Galaxy Wearable (advanced settings)
What does this mean?
The app Samsung names for the earbuds' settings, usually Galaxy Wearable on Android.
On newer Galaxy phones the settings are built into the phone, so the app is not needed there.
Galaxy AI
Interpreter (listening mode), voice commands›Voice access to AI agents with a compatible Galaxy phone
What does this mean?
The Galaxy AI features Samsung names for the earbuds, such as Interpreter, Live Translate or talking to an AI assistant.
Samsung says these need a compatible Samsung Galaxy phone.
Matters most if: You have a recent Galaxy phone and want translation or voice assistants in your ears.
With an iPhone
Bluetooth only (same on both)
What does this mean?
Samsung says Galaxy Buds connect to an iPhone (iPhone 5 or later with iOS 9 or later) by Bluetooth only; iPad and iPod touch are not supported. Only Galaxy Buds+ and Galaxy Buds Live had a Galaxy Buds app for iPhone.
You can listen to music and take calls, but features that need Samsung's app or a Galaxy phone are not there.
Matters most if: You use an iPhone.
Auto Switch
Yes (Galaxy devices) (same on both)
What does this mean?
Samsung's Auto Switch moves the earbuds' connection between your Samsung Galaxy devices, for example from your tablet to your phone when a call comes in.
It works only between Galaxy devices: Samsung names Galaxy phones and tablets with One UI 3.1 or later, and Galaxy Watch4 or later.
Price1 change
Price check
Galaxy Buds4 — launched at $179
What your Galaxy Buds3 sells for
- Sold listings on eBay
eBay may ask you to sign in to see sold prices.
Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.
Starting price
$179.99›$179−$0.99
Noise control1 change · 1 unconfirmed
Active noise canceling (ANC)
ANC (Adaptive ANC)›ANC, Adaptive ANC
What does this mean?
Active noise canceling (ANC) uses microphones to cancel steady background noise, such as an airplane engine. Adaptive ANC changes the level to suit the sound around you.
Samsung gives battery times with ANC on and off: with it on, the battery runs down sooner.
Matters most if: You commute, fly or work somewhere noisy.
Ambient sound
Not stated by Samsung›Ambient sound
What does this mean?
Ambient sound lets outside sound in through the microphones, so you can hear people and traffic without taking the earbuds out.
Useful for a quick chat, an announcement or walking along a busy road.
Voice Detect
Not stated by Samsung (for both)
What does this mean?
Voice Detect lowers your music and lets outside sound in when you start talking. Siren Detect does the same when the earbuds pick up a siren.
You can answer someone without touching the earbuds.
Audio5 changes · 1 unconfirmed
Speakers
1-way 11mm dynamic driver›1-way 11mm; single amplifier
What does this mean?
The speakers in each earbud, as Samsung describes them. "1-way" is one speaker; "2-way" adds a small tweeter for high notes next to the woofer for low notes.
Speaker size alone does not tell you how the earbuds sound: fit and tuning matter as much.
Hi-Fi audio
UHQ up to 24-bit/96kHz›UHQ up to 24-bit/96kHz (listed Galaxy devices)
What does this mean?
Samsung's higher-resolution sound over Bluetooth: 24-bit Hi-Fi, and SSC UHQ up to 24-bit/96kHz on newer models.
It works only with the Galaxy phones and tablets Samsung lists, and only with music files of that quality.
Codecs
AAC, SBC, SSC, SSC-UHQ›SSC HiFi, SSC UHQ, AAC, SBC, LC3
What does this mean?
The ways sound is compressed to travel over Bluetooth. SBC and AAC work with most phones; Samsung's SSC codecs only with Samsung Galaxy devices; LC3 is the codec of Bluetooth LE Audio.
The phone and the earbuds use a codec they both support, so the list matters most with a Galaxy phone.
LE Audio
Not stated by Samsung›LC3; Auracast
What does this mean?
Bluetooth LE Audio, the newer kind of Bluetooth sound, with the LC3 codec, and Auracast, which lets one device send sound to many listeners.
Samsung notes it depends on the phone or other device you pair with.
Bluetooth
5.4›6.1
Microphones
3 mics + VPU›Digital x3 (per earbud)
360 Audio
360 Audio with Direct Multi-Channel (same on both)
What does this mean?
Samsung's 360 Audio places sound around you, as in a cinema; with head tracking it stays in place when you turn your head.
Samsung says it needs a Samsung Galaxy phone or tablet with One UI 3.1 or later, and video or music made for it.
Matters most if: You watch films on a Galaxy phone or tablet.
Battery & charging1 change
Battery capacity, each earbud
48 mAh›45 mAh
Typical capacity. Rated capacity: Galaxy Buds3 45 mAh, Galaxy Buds4 42 mAh.
What does this mean?
The typical capacity of each earbud's battery, in mAh. On newer models Samsung also gives a lower rated capacity, shown under the row.
Capacity alone does not give the hours: the chip and features matter too. The battery life rows are the better guide.
Music playback
5 hours (same on both)
What does this mean?
How long the earbuds play music on one charge, from Samsung's internal testing. For models with ANC, Samsung's time is with ANC on.
Volume, codec and features such as 360 Audio change the time you actually get.
Music playback with the case
24 hours (same on both)
What does this mean?
The total music time including the recharges the case gives, from Samsung's internal testing.
Put the earbuds back in the case during breaks and they recharge.
Music playback, ANC off
6 hours (same on both)
Music playback, ANC off, with the case
30 hours (same on both)
Talk time
3.5 hours (same on both)
What does this mean?
How long you can talk on calls on one charge, from Samsung's internal testing.
Calls use the microphones as well, so talk time is shorter than music time.
Talk time with the case
18 hours (same on both)
Battery capacity, case
515 mAh (same on both)
Typical capacity. Rated capacity: Galaxy Buds3 500 mAh, Galaxy Buds4 500 mAh.
Charging
Not stated by Samsung (for both)
Design & durability8 changes
Fit and design
Open type, blade design›Open-fit, Buds blade design
Sensors
VPU, Force & Touch (swipe), SWIR, accelerometer, Hall›VPU, Force & Touch (swipe), IR, accelerometer, gyro, Hall
Water resistance
IP57 (earbuds only)›IP54 (earbuds only)
What does this mean?
How well the earbuds resist sweat and water, as an IP rating in Samsung's words. The second figure is for water: IPX2 is dripping water, IP54 splashes from any direction, IP57 and IPX7 a short dip in water.
Samsung's rating covers the earbuds, not the case.
Matters most if: You exercise with them or use them in the rain.
Weight, each earbud
4.7 g›4.6 g−0.1 g
Weight, case
46.5 g›45.1 g−1.4 g
Size, each earbud
18.1 x 20.4 x 31.9 mm›18.3 x 19.3 x 30.5 mm
Size, case
58.9 x 48.7 x 24.4 mm›51 x 51 x 28.3 mm
Colors
Silver, White›Black, White
Controls
Pinch, swipe (same on both)
Finding & health1 unconfirmed
Health features
Neck stretch reminders (Labs)›Not stated by Samsung
Finding lost earbuds
Not stated by Samsung (for both)
What does this mean?
How Samsung says you can find lost earbuds, for example with Samsung Find.
The row gives the app or service Samsung names for each model.