Device Diff

Galaxy Watch comparisons

Galaxy Watch FE vs Galaxy Watch9

Only the differences are shown. 13 specs stay the same.

Updates & compatibility2 gains · 3 changes
  • Software at launch

    One UI 5 Watch›One UI 9 Watch (Wear OS 7)

    What does this mean?

    The software the watch came with: Samsung's One UI Watch on top of Wear OS, Google's software for watches.

    A watch moves to newer versions through updates, so this shows where it started, not what it runs today.

  • Phone needed

    Android 11.0 or higher and with more than 1.5GB of memory›Android 13.0 or higher and with more than 1.5GB of memory

    What does this mean?

    The phones Samsung says the watch works with. Galaxy Watch4 and later need an Android phone with Google Mobile Services; they do not work with an iPhone.

    Some health features also need a Samsung Galaxy phone; the health section says which.

    Matters most if: Your phone is not a Samsung Galaxy, or it runs an older version of Android.

  • Chip

    Exynos W920 Dual Core 1.18GHz›Qualcomm SDW6100 (Penta-Core, 3nm) - Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform

    What does this mean?

    The main processor: the part that runs apps, workouts and the watch face. Samsung uses its own Exynos chips; Galaxy Watch9 and Galaxy Watch Ultra2 use Qualcomm's Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform.

    Apps and workouts start faster on a faster chip. Compare the chip names rather than the year.

  • Memory (RAM)

    1.5 GB›2 GB

    What does this mean?

    Memory (RAM) is the watch's short-term working memory for the apps running right now, measured in GB (gigabytes).

    More memory lets the watch keep more apps ready without reloading them.

  • Storage

    16 GB›32 GB

    What does this mean?

    Space for apps, music and maps saved on the watch, in GB (gigabytes).

    Part of it is taken by the watch's own software, so you have less than the figure for your own things.

Price1 unconfirmed

Price check

Galaxy Watch9 — launched at $379.99

What your Galaxy Watch FE sells for

Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.

  • Starting price

    Price not confirmed by Samsung›$379.99

    What does this mean?

    The lowest US price Samsung announced when the watch came out, before sales tax. Most models start with the smallest Bluetooth version.

    This is not what it costs today: check the used links for current prices. If Samsung has not confirmed a price, the site shows "Price not confirmed by Samsung".

Display3 changes · 1 unconfirmed
  • Display size

    1.2-inch›1.34-inch (40 mm), 1.47-inch (44 mm)

  • Resolution

    396 x 396›438 x 438 (40 mm), 480 x 480 (44 mm)

  • Peak brightness

    Not stated by Samsung›3000 nits

    What does this mean?

    How bright the screen can get at most, in nits (a unit of brightness).

    A brighter screen is easier to read in direct sunlight. Samsung says the 5,000 nits of Galaxy Watch Ultra2 is a peak in part of the screen; full-screen brightness may differ.

  • Cover glass

    Sapphire Crystal glass›Sapphire Crystal

    What does this mean?

    The glass over the screen. Samsung uses Sapphire Crystal on recent models; Galaxy Watch4 used Corning Gorilla Glass.

    Samsung says Galaxy Watch5 was its first smartwatch with a Sapphire Crystal display.

Battery & charging1 change · 1 unconfirmed
  • Battery capacity

    247 mAh›390 mAh (40 mm), 445 mAh (44 mm)

    What does this mean?

    The battery's capacity in mAh (milliamp-hours), for each case size. For most models Samsung gives the capacity rather than hours of use.

    Samsung says actual battery life varies with how you use the watch, the model and the network, so capacity is only a rough guide.

  • Fast charging

    Not stated by Samsung›Fast Charging (WPC-based wireless charging)

    What does this mean?

    Samsung's name for how fast the watch charges on its wireless charger.

    Samsung gives examples for some models, such as eight minutes of charging covering eight hours of sleep tracking on Galaxy Watch5.

Design & durability4 changes
  • Case sizes

    40 mm›40 mm, 44 mm

  • Weight

    26.6 g›31.5 g (40 mm), 34 g (44 mm)

    Samsung weights are measured without the band.

    What does this mean?

    The weight of the watch for each case size, as Samsung gives it.

    Samsung weighs its watches without the band, so the watch on your wrist weighs more.

  • Size

    39.3 x 40.4 x 9.8 mm›42.7 x 40.4 x 8.6 mm (40 mm), 46.0 x 43.7 x 8.6 mm (44 mm)

  • Band

    one-click band›Dynamic Lug System

    What does this mean?

    How the band attaches, or the band the watch comes with, as Samsung names it. The Dynamic Lug System on Galaxy Watch Ultra, Watch8, Watch8 Classic and Watch9 holds the watch closer to the wrist.

    Samsung says it keeps the sensors in place for more reliable health readings. When you buy a new band, check that it lists your watch model.

    More in the glossary →

Connectivity2 changes · 1 unconfirmed
  • Bluetooth

    5.3›6.0

  • Wi-Fi

    802.11 a/b/g/n 2.4+5GHz›2.4GHz+5GHz

  • GPS

    GPS / Glonass / Beidou / Galileo›L1+L5 Dual-Frequency GPS

    What does this mean?

    The satellite systems the watch uses to find where you are. "L1+L5 Dual-Frequency" means it listens to two GPS frequencies.

    Samsung says Galaxy Watch7 was the first Galaxy smartwatch with dual-frequency GPS, and that LTE models can use GPS without a phone.

Swap in a different Galaxy Watch