Device Diff

Galaxy Watch comparisons

Galaxy Watch Ultra (2025) vs Galaxy Watch Ultra2

Only the differences are shown. 13 specs stay the same.

+0you gain

−0you give up

Galaxy Watch Ultra (2025) came out in July 2025. Galaxy Watch Ultra2 came out in August 2026, over 1 year later.

Note on Galaxy Watch Ultra (2025): Samsung kept the name 'Galaxy Watch Ultra' for the July 2025 refresh with a new Titanium Blue finish. Shown as '(2025)' on this site because storage (64GB) and launch software differ from the 2024 model.

Note on Galaxy Watch Ultra2: Withstands -20C to 55C while worn (Samsung lab tests). Trail Run is exclusive to this model. 5,000 nits is a localized peak; Samsung says full-screen brightness may differ. 12% thinner than the previous Ultra.

Updates & compatibility

Exynos W1000 (5 Core, 3nm) → Qualcomm SDW6100 (Penta-Core, 3nm) - Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform

Display

Not stated by Samsung → 1.52-inch

Battery & charging

590 mAh → 800 mAh

Design & durability

IP68 → IP69K

Connectivity

Bluetooth Not stated by Samsung → 6.0

Price check

Galaxy Watch Ultra2 launched at $699.99

Updates & compatibility1 change · 2 unconfirmed
  • Software at launch

    Not stated by Samsung›One UI 9 Watch (Wear OS 7)

    What does this mean?

    The software the watch came with: Samsung's One UI Watch on top of Wear OS, Google's software for watches.

    A watch moves to newer versions through updates, so this shows where it started, not what it runs today.

  • Phone needed

    Not stated by Samsung›Android 13.0 or higher and with more than 1.5GB of memory

    What does this mean?

    The phones Samsung says the watch works with. Galaxy Watch4 and later need an Android phone with Google Mobile Services; they do not work with an iPhone.

    Some health features also need a Samsung Galaxy phone; the health section says which.

    Matters most if: Your phone is not a Samsung Galaxy, or it runs an older version of Android.

  • Chip

    Exynos W1000 (5 Core, 3nm)›Qualcomm SDW6100 (Penta-Core, 3nm) - Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform

    What does this mean?

    The main processor: the part that runs apps, workouts and the watch face. Samsung uses its own Exynos chips; Galaxy Watch9 and Galaxy Watch Ultra2 use Qualcomm's Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform.

    Apps and workouts start faster on a faster chip. Compare the chip names rather than the year.

Price1 unconfirmed

Price check

Galaxy Watch Ultra2 — launched at $699.99

What your Galaxy Watch Ultra (2025) sells for

Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.

  • Starting price

    Price not confirmed by Samsung›$699.99

    What does this mean?

    The lowest US price Samsung announced when the watch came out, before sales tax. Most models start with the smallest Bluetooth version.

    This is not what it costs today: check the used links for current prices. If Samsung has not confirmed a price, the site shows "Price not confirmed by Samsung".

Display4 unconfirmed
  • Display size

    Not stated by Samsung›1.52-inch

  • Resolution

    Not stated by Samsung›498 x 498

  • Peak brightness

    Not stated by Samsung›5000 nits

    What does this mean?

    How bright the screen can get at most, in nits (a unit of brightness).

    A brighter screen is easier to read in direct sunlight. Samsung says the 5,000 nits of Galaxy Watch Ultra2 is a peak in part of the screen; full-screen brightness may differ.

  • Cover glass

    Not stated by Samsung›Sapphire Crystal

    What does this mean?

    The glass over the screen. Samsung uses Sapphire Crystal on recent models; Galaxy Watch4 used Corning Gorilla Glass.

    Samsung says Galaxy Watch5 was its first smartwatch with a Sapphire Crystal display.

Health sensors1 unconfirmed

Health features Samsung named at launch: Galaxy Watch Ultra (2025)

  • Not stated by Samsung

Health features Samsung named at launch: Galaxy Watch Ultra2

  • Sleep Apnea feature (needs a Galaxy phone)
  • Vitals
  • Heart Health Score (needs a Galaxy phone)
  • Daily Cardio Load
  • Fitness Index
  • Hearing
  • Trail Run
  • Nutrition Alert

Availability varies by country, and some features need a Galaxy phone. Samsung's Health Monitor page

  • Sensors

    Not stated by Samsung›Samsung BioActive Sensor (Optical Bio-signal Sensor + Electrical Heart Signal + Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis), Temperature Sensor, Accelerometer, Barometer, Gyro Sensor, Geomagnetic Sensor, Light Sensor

    What does this mean?

    The sensors Samsung lists for the watch. The Samsung BioActive Sensor on the back combines three in one chip: an optical heart sensor, an electrical heart sensor (for ECG) and a body composition sensor (bioelectrical impedance analysis).

    Which health features you can use also depends on your country and your phone.

    More in the glossary →

Battery & charging1 change · 1 unconfirmed
  • Battery capacity

    590 mAh›800 mAh

    What does this mean?

    The battery's capacity in mAh (milliamp-hours), for each case size. For most models Samsung gives the capacity rather than hours of use.

    Samsung says actual battery life varies with how you use the watch, the model and the network, so capacity is only a rough guide.

  • Fast charging

    Not stated by Samsung›High-Frequency Fast Charging (WPC-based wireless charging)

    What does this mean?

    Samsung's name for how fast the watch charges on its wireless charger.

    Samsung gives examples for some models, such as eight minutes of charging covering eight hours of sleep tracking on Galaxy Watch5.

Design & durability1 change · 4 unconfirmed
  • Weight

    Not stated by Samsung›61.5 g

    Samsung weights are measured without the band.

    What does this mean?

    The weight of the watch for each case size, as Samsung gives it.

    Samsung weighs its watches without the band, so the watch on your wrist weighs more.

  • Size

    Not stated by Samsung›47.4 x 47.1 x 10.7 mm

  • Dust and water rating

    IP68›IP69K

    What does this mean?

    IP68 means dust-tight and water-resistant under water: Samsung says up to 1.5 meters (5 feet) of fresh water for up to 30 minutes. IP69K, on Galaxy Watch Ultra2, adds protection against powerful, hot water jets.

    Neither rating makes the watch a diving instrument. Samsung says Galaxy Watch Ultra2 is its first watch certified to EN13319, a standard for diving instruments.

    More in the glossary →

  • Other certifications

    Not stated by Samsung›EN13319, ISO22810 (100 m)

  • Rotating bezel

    Not stated by Samsung›None

    What does this mean?

    A ring around the screen that turns, for scrolling through the watch's screens without touching the display. Samsung's Classic models have one.

    Watches without it use the touch screen and buttons instead.

Connectivity4 unconfirmed
  • Bluetooth

    Not stated by Samsung›6.0

  • Wi-Fi

    Not stated by Samsung›2.4GHz+5GHz

  • NFC

    Not stated by Samsung›Yes

    What does this mean?

    Near-field communication: lets you pay by holding the watch near a card reader.

    Paying with the watch also needs a payment app and a bank that supports it in your country.

  • GPS

    Not stated by Samsung›L1+L5 Dual-Frequency GPS

    What does this mean?

    The satellite systems the watch uses to find where you are. "L1+L5 Dual-Frequency" means it listens to two GPS frequencies.

    Samsung says Galaxy Watch7 was the first Galaxy smartwatch with dual-frequency GPS, and that LTE models can use GPS without a phone.

Swap in a different Galaxy Watch