Device Diff

Galaxy Watch comparisons

Galaxy Watch Ultra vs Galaxy Watch Ultra2

Only the differences are shown. 15 specs stay the same.

+2you gain

−0you give up

Galaxy Watch Ultra came out in July 2024. Galaxy Watch Ultra2 came out in August 2026, over 2 years later.

Note on Galaxy Watch Ultra: Samsung says it works from 500 meters below sea level to 9,000 meters high.

Note on Galaxy Watch Ultra2: Withstands -20C to 55C while worn (Samsung lab tests). Trail Run is exclusive to this model. 5,000 nits is a localized peak; Samsung says full-screen brightness may differ. 12% thinner than the previous Ultra.

Updates & compatibility

32 GB → 64 GB storage

One UI 9 Watch (Wear OS 7), Android 13.0 or higher and with more than 1.5GB of memory, Qualcomm SDW6100 (Penta-Core, 3nm) - Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform

Display

3000 nits → 5000 nits peak brightness

1.52-inch

Battery & charging

590 mAh → 800 mAh

Design & durability

IP68 → IP69K

Titanium

Connectivity

Bluetooth 5.3 → 6.0

Price check

Galaxy Watch Ultra2 launched at $699.99

Updates & compatibility1 gain · 3 changes
  • Software at launch

    One UI 6 Watch (Wear OS 5)›One UI 9 Watch (Wear OS 7)

    What does this mean?

    The software the watch came with: Samsung's One UI Watch on top of Wear OS, Google's software for watches.

    A watch moves to newer versions through updates, so this shows where it started, not what it runs today.

  • Phone needed

    Android 11 or higher and with more than 1.5GB of memory›Android 13.0 or higher and with more than 1.5GB of memory

    What does this mean?

    The phones Samsung says the watch works with. Galaxy Watch4 and later need an Android phone with Google Mobile Services; they do not work with an iPhone.

    Some health features also need a Samsung Galaxy phone; the health section says which.

    Matters most if: Your phone is not a Samsung Galaxy, or it runs an older version of Android.

  • Chip

    Exynos W1000 (5 Core, 3nm)›Qualcomm SDW6100 (Penta-Core, 3nm) - Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform

    What does this mean?

    The main processor: the part that runs apps, workouts and the watch face. Samsung uses its own Exynos chips; Galaxy Watch9 and Galaxy Watch Ultra2 use Qualcomm's Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform.

    Apps and workouts start faster on a faster chip. Compare the chip names rather than the year.

  • Storage

    32 GB›64 GB

    What does this mean?

    Space for apps, music and maps saved on the watch, in GB (gigabytes).

    Part of it is taken by the watch's own software, so you have less than the figure for your own things.

Price1 change

Price check

Galaxy Watch Ultra2 — launched at $699.99

What your Galaxy Watch Ultra sells for

Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.

  • Starting price

    $649.99›$699.99+$50(both start at 47 mm, LTE)

    What does this mean?

    The lowest US price Samsung announced when the watch came out, before sales tax. Most models start with the smallest Bluetooth version.

    This is not what it costs today: check the used links for current prices. If Samsung has not confirmed a price, the site shows "Price not confirmed by Samsung".

Display1 gain · 2 changes
  • Display size

    1.5-inch›1.52-inch

  • Resolution

    480 x 480›498 x 498

  • Peak brightness

    3000 nits›5000 nits

    What does this mean?

    How bright the screen can get at most, in nits (a unit of brightness).

    A brighter screen is easier to read in direct sunlight. Samsung says the 5,000 nits of Galaxy Watch Ultra2 is a peak in part of the screen; full-screen brightness may differ.

Health sensors1 unconfirmed

Health features Samsung named at launch: Galaxy Watch Ultra

  • Not stated by Samsung

Health features Samsung named at launch: Galaxy Watch Ultra2

  • Sleep Apnea feature (needs a Galaxy phone)
  • Vitals
  • Heart Health Score (needs a Galaxy phone)
  • Daily Cardio Load
  • Fitness Index
  • Hearing
  • Trail Run
  • Nutrition Alert

Availability varies by country, and some features need a Galaxy phone. Samsung's Health Monitor page

  • Sensors

    Not stated by Samsung›Samsung BioActive Sensor (Optical Bio-signal Sensor + Electrical Heart Signal + Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis), Temperature Sensor, Accelerometer, Barometer, Gyro Sensor, Geomagnetic Sensor, Light Sensor

    What does this mean?

    The sensors Samsung lists for the watch. The Samsung BioActive Sensor on the back combines three in one chip: an optical heart sensor, an electrical heart sensor (for ECG) and a body composition sensor (bioelectrical impedance analysis).

    Which health features you can use also depends on your country and your phone.

    More in the glossary →

Battery & charging1 change · 2 unconfirmed
  • Battery capacity

    590 mAh›800 mAh

    What does this mean?

    The battery's capacity in mAh (milliamp-hours), for each case size. For most models Samsung gives the capacity rather than hours of use.

    Samsung says actual battery life varies with how you use the watch, the model and the network, so capacity is only a rough guide.

  • Battery life (Samsung's figure)

    Up to 100 hours in Power Saving and 48 hours in Exercise Power Saving (Samsung).›Not stated by Samsung

    What does this mean?

    The hours of use Samsung states, for the models it gives a figure for.

    Samsung's figures come from its own tests; workouts with GPS and LTE use shorten them.

  • Fast charging

    Not stated by Samsung›High-Frequency Fast Charging (WPC-based wireless charging)

    What does this mean?

    Samsung's name for how fast the watch charges on its wireless charger.

    Samsung gives examples for some models, such as eight minutes of charging covering eight hours of sleep tracking on Galaxy Watch5.

Design & durability4 changes · 3 unconfirmed
  • Case material

    Titanium Grade 4›Titanium

  • Weight

    60.5 g›61.5 g

    Samsung weights are measured without the band.

    What does this mean?

    The weight of the watch for each case size, as Samsung gives it.

    Samsung weighs its watches without the band, so the watch on your wrist weighs more.

  • Size

    47.1 x 47.4 x 12.1 mm›47.4 x 47.1 x 10.7 mm

  • Dust and water rating

    IP68›IP69K

    What does this mean?

    IP68 means dust-tight and water-resistant under water: Samsung says up to 1.5 meters (5 feet) of fresh water for up to 30 minutes. IP69K, on Galaxy Watch Ultra2, adds protection against powerful, hot water jets.

    Neither rating makes the watch a diving instrument. Samsung says Galaxy Watch Ultra2 is its first watch certified to EN13319, a standard for diving instruments.

    More in the glossary →

  • Other certifications

    Not stated by Samsung›EN13319, ISO22810 (100 m)

  • Extra button

    Quick Button (also activates Emergency Siren)›Not stated by Samsung

  • Band

    Dynamic Lug System›Not stated by Samsung

    What does this mean?

    How the band attaches, or the band the watch comes with, as Samsung names it. The Dynamic Lug System on Galaxy Watch Ultra, Watch8, Watch8 Classic and Watch9 holds the watch closer to the wrist.

    Samsung says it keeps the sensors in place for more reliable health readings. When you buy a new band, check that it lists your watch model.

    More in the glossary →

Connectivity1 change · 1 unconfirmed
  • Bluetooth

    5.3›6.0

  • GPS

    GPS (L1+L5) / Glonass / Beidou / Galileo›L1+L5 Dual-Frequency GPS

    What does this mean?

    The satellite systems the watch uses to find where you are. "L1+L5 Dual-Frequency" means it listens to two GPS frequencies.

    Samsung says Galaxy Watch7 was the first Galaxy smartwatch with dual-frequency GPS, and that LTE models can use GPS without a phone.

Swap in a different Galaxy Watch