Device Diff

Galaxy Watch comparisons

Galaxy Watch6 Classic vs Galaxy Watch8 Classic

Only the differences are shown. 17 specs stay the same.

Updates & compatibility1 gain · 3 changes · 1 unconfirmed
  • Software at launch

    One UI 5 Watch (Wear OS 4)›One UI 8 Watch (Wear OS 6)

    What does this mean?

    The software the watch came with: Samsung's One UI Watch on top of Wear OS, Google's software for watches.

    A watch moves to newer versions through updates, so this shows where it started, not what it runs today.

  • Phone needed

    Android 10 or higher and with more than 1.5GB of memory›Global press release: Android 12.0 or higher and with more than 1.5GB of memory. Samsung US product page: works with Samsung Galaxy smartphones running Android 12 or higher.

    What does this mean?

    The phones Samsung says the watch works with. Galaxy Watch4 and later need an Android phone with Google Mobile Services; they do not work with an iPhone.

    Some health features also need a Samsung Galaxy phone; the health section says which.

    Matters most if: Your phone is not a Samsung Galaxy, or it runs an older version of Android.

  • Galaxy AI and Gemini

    Not stated by Samsung›Gemini (Google) out of the box; AI-powered Energy Score

    What does this mean?

    The AI features Samsung names for the watch, such as Gemini, Google's assistant, or Energy Score, a daily readiness score.

    Samsung says Galaxy AI features need a compatible Galaxy phone, the Samsung Health app and a Samsung account. "Not stated by Samsung" means Samsung's pages for the watch name none.

  • Chip

    Exynos W930 Dual-Core 1.4GHz›Exynos W1000 (5 Core, 3nm)

    What does this mean?

    The main processor: the part that runs apps, workouts and the watch face. Samsung uses its own Exynos chips; Galaxy Watch9 and Galaxy Watch Ultra2 use Qualcomm's Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform.

    Apps and workouts start faster on a faster chip. Compare the chip names rather than the year.

  • Storage

    16 GB›64 GB

    What does this mean?

    Space for apps, music and maps saved on the watch, in GB (gigabytes).

    Part of it is taken by the watch's own software, so you have less than the figure for your own things.

Price1 change

Price check

Galaxy Watch8 Classic — launched at $499.99

What your Galaxy Watch6 Classic sells for

Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.

  • Starting price

    $399.99›$499.99+$100

    What does this mean?

    The lowest US price Samsung announced when the watch came out, before sales tax. Most models start with the smallest Bluetooth version.

    This is not what it costs today: check the used links for current prices. If Samsung has not confirmed a price, the site shows "Price not confirmed by Samsung".

Display1 gain · 2 changes
  • Display size

    1.3-inch (43 mm), 1.5-inch (47 mm)›1.34-inch

  • Resolution

    432 x 432 (43 mm), 480 x 480 (47 mm)›438 x 438

  • Peak brightness

    2000 nits›3000 nits

    What does this mean?

    How bright the screen can get at most, in nits (a unit of brightness).

    A brighter screen is easier to read in direct sunlight. Samsung says the 5,000 nits of Galaxy Watch Ultra2 is a peak in part of the screen; full-screen brightness may differ.

Health sensors1 change

Health features Samsung named at launch: Galaxy Watch6 Classic

  • Not stated by Samsung

Health features Samsung named at launch: Galaxy Watch8 Classic

  • Bedtime Guidance
  • Vascular Load
  • Antioxidant Index
  • Running Coach
  • Energy Score
  • High Stress Alert

Availability varies by country, and some features need a Galaxy phone. Samsung's Health Monitor page

  • Sensors

    Samsung BioActive Sensor (Optical Heart Rate + Electrical Heart Signal + Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis), Temperature Sensor, Accelerometer, Barometer, Gyro Sensor, Geomagnetic Sensor, Light Sensor, 3D Hall sensor›Samsung BioActive Sensor (Optical Bio-signal Sensor + Electrical Heart Signal + Bioelectrical Impedance Analysis), Temperature Sensor, Accelerometer, Barometer, Gyro Sensor, Geomagnetic Sensor, Light Sensor, 3D Hall sensor

    What does this mean?

    The sensors Samsung lists for the watch. The Samsung BioActive Sensor on the back combines three in one chip: an optical heart sensor, an electrical heart sensor (for ECG) and a body composition sensor (bioelectrical impedance analysis).

    Which health features you can use also depends on your country and your phone.

    More in the glossary →

Battery & charging2 changes · 1 unconfirmed
  • Battery capacity

    300 mAh (43 mm), 425 mAh (47 mm)›445 mAh

    What does this mean?

    The battery's capacity in mAh (milliamp-hours), for each case size. For most models Samsung gives the capacity rather than hours of use.

    Samsung says actual battery life varies with how you use the watch, the model and the network, so capacity is only a rough guide.

  • Battery life (Samsung's figure)

    Up to 40 hours (Always On Display off) / up to 30 hours (Always On Display on) (Samsung).›Not stated by Samsung

    What does this mean?

    The hours of use Samsung states, for the models it gives a figure for.

    Samsung's figures come from its own tests; workouts with GPS and LTE use shorten them.

  • Fast charging

    Fast Charging (WPC-based wireless charging); eight minutes of charging adds eight hours (Samsung).›Fast Charging (WPC-based wireless charging)

    What does this mean?

    Samsung's name for how fast the watch charges on its wireless charger.

    Samsung gives examples for some models, such as eight minutes of charging covering eight hours of sleep tracking on Galaxy Watch5.

Design & durability4 changes · 1 unconfirmed
  • Case sizes

    43 mm, 47 mm›46 mm

  • Weight

    52 g (43 mm), 59 g (47 mm)›63.5 g

    Samsung weights are measured without the band.

    What does this mean?

    The weight of the watch for each case size, as Samsung gives it.

    Samsung weighs its watches without the band, so the watch on your wrist weighs more.

  • Size

    42.5 x 42.5 x 10.9 mm (43 mm), 46.5 x 46.5 x 10.9 mm (47 mm)›46.4 x 46 x 10.6 mm

  • Extra button

    Not stated by Samsung›Quick Button

  • Band

    one-click bands›Dynamic Lug system

    What does this mean?

    How the band attaches, or the band the watch comes with, as Samsung names it. The Dynamic Lug System on Galaxy Watch Ultra, Watch8, Watch8 Classic and Watch9 holds the watch closer to the wrist.

    Samsung says it keeps the sensors in place for more reliable health readings. When you buy a new band, check that it lists your watch model.

    More in the glossary →

Connectivity1 change
  • GPS

    GPS / Glonass / Beidou / Galileo›L1+L5 Dual-Frequency GPS (GPS, Glonass, Beidou, Galileo)

    What does this mean?

    The satellite systems the watch uses to find where you are. "L1+L5 Dual-Frequency" means it listens to two GPS frequencies.

    Samsung says Galaxy Watch7 was the first Galaxy smartwatch with dual-frequency GPS, and that LTE models can use GPS without a phone.

Swap in a different Galaxy Watch