Device Diff

Galaxy Watch comparisons

Galaxy Watch8 vs Galaxy Watch9

Only the differences are shown. 22 specs stay the same.

+0you gain

−0you give up

Galaxy Watch8 came out in July 2025. Galaxy Watch9 came out in August 2026, over 1 year later.

Note on Galaxy Watch9: No Galaxy Watch9 Classic was announced. Samsung says the 40mm battery has 20% more capacity than the previous generation.

Updates & compatibility

One UI 8 Watch (Wear OS 6) → One UI 9 Watch (Wear OS 7)

Android 13.0 or higher and with more than 1.5GB of memory, Qualcomm SDW6100 (Penta-Core, 3nm) - Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform

Battery & charging

325 mAh (40 mm), 435 mAh (44 mm) → 390 mAh (40 mm), 445 mAh (44 mm)

Design & durability

Armor Aluminum → Aluminum

Connectivity

Bluetooth 5.3 → 6.0

Price check

Galaxy Watch9 launched at $379.99

Updates & compatibility3 changes · 1 unconfirmed
  • Software at launch

    One UI 8 Watch (Wear OS 6)›One UI 9 Watch (Wear OS 7)

    What does this mean?

    The software the watch came with: Samsung's One UI Watch on top of Wear OS, Google's software for watches.

    A watch moves to newer versions through updates, so this shows where it started, not what it runs today.

  • Phone needed

    Android 12.0 or higher and with more than 1.5GB of memory›Android 13.0 or higher and with more than 1.5GB of memory

    What does this mean?

    The phones Samsung says the watch works with. Galaxy Watch4 and later need an Android phone with Google Mobile Services; they do not work with an iPhone.

    Some health features also need a Samsung Galaxy phone; the health section says which.

    Matters most if: Your phone is not a Samsung Galaxy, or it runs an older version of Android.

  • Galaxy AI and Gemini

    Gemini (Google) out of the box›Not stated by Samsung

    What does this mean?

    The AI features Samsung names for the watch, such as Gemini, Google's assistant, or Energy Score, a daily readiness score.

    Samsung says Galaxy AI features need a compatible Galaxy phone, the Samsung Health app and a Samsung account. "Not stated by Samsung" means Samsung's pages for the watch name none.

  • Chip

    Exynos W1000 (5 Core, 3nm)›Qualcomm SDW6100 (Penta-Core, 3nm) - Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform

    What does this mean?

    The main processor: the part that runs apps, workouts and the watch face. Samsung uses its own Exynos chips; Galaxy Watch9 and Galaxy Watch Ultra2 use Qualcomm's Snapdragon Wear Elite Platform.

    Apps and workouts start faster on a faster chip. Compare the chip names rather than the year.

Price1 change

Price check

Galaxy Watch9 — launched at $379.99

What your Galaxy Watch8 sells for

Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.

  • Starting price

    $349.99›$379.99+$30(both start at 40 mm, Bluetooth)

    What does this mean?

    The lowest US price Samsung announced when the watch came out, before sales tax. Most models start with the smallest Bluetooth version.

    This is not what it costs today: check the used links for current prices. If Samsung has not confirmed a price, the site shows "Price not confirmed by Samsung".

Battery & charging1 change · 1 unconfirmed
  • Battery capacity

    325 mAh (40 mm), 435 mAh (44 mm)›390 mAh (40 mm), 445 mAh (44 mm)

    What does this mean?

    The battery's capacity in mAh (milliamp-hours), for each case size. For most models Samsung gives the capacity rather than hours of use.

    Samsung says actual battery life varies with how you use the watch, the model and the network, so capacity is only a rough guide.

  • Fast charging

    Not stated by Samsung›Fast Charging (WPC-based wireless charging)

    What does this mean?

    Samsung's name for how fast the watch charges on its wireless charger.

    Samsung gives examples for some models, such as eight minutes of charging covering eight hours of sleep tracking on Galaxy Watch5.

Design & durability2 changes
  • Case material

    Armor Aluminum›Aluminum

  • Weight

    30 g (40 mm), 34 g (44 mm)›31.5 g (40 mm), 34 g (44 mm)

    Samsung weights are measured without the band.

    What does this mean?

    The weight of the watch for each case size, as Samsung gives it.

    Samsung weighs its watches without the band, so the watch on your wrist weighs more.

Connectivity1 change · 1 unconfirmed
  • Bluetooth

    5.3›6.0

  • GPS

    L1+L5 Dual-Frequency GPS (GPS, Glonass, Beidou, Galileo)›L1+L5 Dual-Frequency GPS

    What does this mean?

    The satellite systems the watch uses to find where you are. "L1+L5 Dual-Frequency" means it listens to two GPS frequencies.

    Samsung says Galaxy Watch7 was the first Galaxy smartwatch with dual-frequency GPS, and that LTE models can use GPS without a phone.

Swap in a different Galaxy Watch