Device Diff

Galaxy comparisons

Galaxy S6 active vs Galaxy S8 Active

Only the differences are shown. 9 specs stay the same.

+2you gain

−1you give up

Galaxy S6 active came out in June 2015. Galaxy S8 Active came out in August 2017, over 2 years later.

Updates & AI

Android 5.0 (Lollipop) → Android 7.0 (Nougat)

The only change here

Battery

3500 mAh → 4000 mAh battery

Camera

16 MP → 12 MP

8 MP front

Screen

5.1 in → 5.8 in screen

2960 x 1440

Charging & connections

Wireless Charging → Fast Wireless Charging

Bluetooth v5.1

Price check

Galaxy S8 Active price not confirmed by Samsung

Not currently sold refurbished by Back Market.

Updates & AI1 change
  • Android at launch

    Android 5.0 (Lollipop)›Android 7.0 (Nougat)

    What does this mean?

    The version of Android, Google's phone software, that was installed when the phone first came out. Samsung adds its own design and features on top, called One UI (TouchWiz on older phones).

    A Galaxy moves to newer Android versions through updates, so this shows where it started, not what it runs today.

Price1 unconfirmed

Price check

Galaxy S8 Active — price not confirmed by Samsung

What your Galaxy S6 active sells for

Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.

  • Starting price

    Price not confirmed by Samsung›Price not confirmed by Samsung

    What does this mean?

    What Samsung charged in the US when the phone launched, for the version with the least storage, before sales tax. Phones from before about 2014 were often priced with a two-year carrier contract.

    This is not what it costs today: check the used and refurbished links for current prices. If Samsung has not confirmed a price, the site shows "Price not confirmed by Samsung".

Battery1 gain · 1 change
  • Battery capacity

    3500 mAh›4000 mAh

    What does this mean?

    How much charge the battery holds, measured in mAh (milliamp-hours). Samsung lists a typical figure; we show the one Samsung gives.

    A bigger number stores more energy, but how long a charge lasts also depends on the screen, the chip and which features you use.

  • Battery life (Samsung's figure)

    Up to 16 hours of video playback›Up to 32 hours of talk time

    Samsung gives talk time for one phone and video playback for the other. They are different tests, so the hours are not comparable.

    What does this mean?

    Samsung's own figure for how long a full charge lasts in one of its tests, usually hours of video playback (talk time on older phones).

    It is a lab test of one activity, so real use with a mix of apps is usually shorter. Compare it only with another Samsung figure for the same test.

    Matters most if: You are often away from a charger all day.

Camera1 gain · 1 loss · 1 unconfirmed
  • Main camera

    16 MP›12 MP

    What does this mean?

    The resolution of the main camera's sensor in megapixels (MP), meaning millions of light-catching dots.

    High-megapixel cameras usually combine neighboring dots into a smaller photo by default; you can switch to full resolution for large prints or cropping.

    Matters most if: You want full-size photos for large prints or for cropping later.

  • Digital zoom (most)

    Not stated by Samsung›Up to 8x

    What does this mean?

    The farthest the camera can zoom, with software doing the work beyond what the lenses reach. Samsung calls it Space Zoom on many models.

    Past the lens's own zoom, the camera enlarges part of the picture and relies on processing to keep it sharp, so the highest levels lose detail.

    Matters most if: You zoom far and need the photo to show fine details.

    More in the glossary →

  • Front camera

    5 MP›8 MP

    What does this mean?

    The resolution in megapixels (MP) of the selfie camera on the front.

    A higher number keeps more detail in selfies and video calls, but light and processing matter as much.

Screen2 changes
  • Screen size

    5.1 in›5.8 in

    What does this mean?

    The screen size, measured corner to corner (diagonally) in inches. 1 inch is 25.4 mm.

    Samsung measures the screen as a full rectangle, so with rounded corners the visible area is a little smaller.

  • Resolution

    2560 x 1440 (Quad HD)›2960 x 1440

    What does this mean?

    How many dots (pixels) make up the screen, written as height x width, with a name such as Full HD+ or Quad HD+.

    On screens of the same size, more pixels show text and photos in finer detail.

Design & buttons3 unconfirmed
  • Unlock

    Not stated by Samsung›Fingerprint, Iris Scanner

    What does this mean?

    Ways to unlock the phone with your body instead of typing a PIN: a fingerprint sensor (in the screen, the side key, the home key or on the back), face recognition, or on some older models an iris scanner.

    An ultrasonic sensor in the screen reads your finger with sound waves; others use light. Where the sensor sits changes how you unlock the phone with one hand.

  • Weight

    170 g›Not stated by Samsung

    What does this mean?

    How much the phone weighs in grams (g); about 28 g is 1 ounce.

    You feel the weight most when you hold the phone up for a long time, such as reading or filming.

  • Materials

    Not stated by Samsung›Metal frame and bumpers (high-strength aluminum); shatter-resistant screen; Gorilla Glass 5; rugged textured back cover

    What does this mean?

    What the outside of the phone is made of: the cover glass over the screen and back, and the frame around the edge, as Samsung lists them.

    Glass names such as Corning Gorilla Glass Victus or Gorilla Armor are tougher generations of glass; a titanium or aluminum frame changes the weight and feel more than the strength in daily use.

Charging & connections2 changes · 2 unconfirmed
  • USB port

    USB 2.0 (connector not stated by Samsung)›USB-C (USB version not stated by Samsung)

    What does this mean?

    The kind of USB port Samsung lists: Micro USB on older phones, USB-C on newer ones, with a USB version such as USB 2.0 or USB 3.2. It concerns moving data over a cable, such as copying files to a computer.

    A higher USB version can copy files faster with a cable that supports it. Charging speed is listed separately.

  • Wired charging

    Not stated by Samsung›Adaptive Fast Charging

    What does this mean?

    How fast the phone charges with a cable, in Samsung's words, such as Super Fast Charging (25W or 45W). W (watts) is how much power the charger can deliver.

    The top speed needs a charger and cable that support it; recent Galaxy phones come with a cable but no charger.

    Matters most if: You often need a quick top-up before heading out.

  • Wireless charging

    Wireless Charging›Fast Wireless Charging

    What does this mean?

    Whether and how fast the phone charges on a wireless charging pad, in Samsung's words, such as Fast Wireless Charging 2.0.

    The fastest speed usually needs a matching Samsung charger. Wireless charging is slower than a cable but saves plugging in.

  • Bluetooth

    v4.1›v5.1

    What does this mean?

    Bluetooth connects wireless accessories, such as earbuds and watches, to the phone. The number, such as v5.3, is the Bluetooth version.

    Newer versions add features such as LE Audio, but your earbuds or watch need to support them too.

Chip & storage2 changes
  • Chip

    Exynos 7420 Octa-core 64-bit (2.1GHz, 1.5GHz)›Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 4 x 2.35GHz + 4 x 1.9GHz

    What does this mean?

    The main processor: the part that runs apps, camera processing and on-device AI. Samsung uses its own Exynos chips in some countries and Qualcomm Snapdragon chips in others, sometimes for the same model.

    Where the chip depends on the country, the page shows a switch for the versions Samsung lists. A newer phone can have an older chip, so compare the chip names rather than the year.

    Matters most if: You are buying a model that was sold with two different chips.

    More in the glossary →

  • Storage options

    32 GB›64 GB

    What does this mean?

    How much space the phone has for apps, photos, videos and files, in GB (gigabytes) or TB (terabytes; 1 TB is 1,000 GB).

    Each storage size is sold at its own price, and not every size is sold in every country. You get less usable space than the number shown, because some of it holds the phone's own software.

Swap in a different Galaxy