Device Diff

Galaxy comparisons

Galaxy S7 active vs Galaxy S8 Active

Only the differences are shown. 12 specs stay the same.

+1you gain

−0you give up

Galaxy S7 active came out in June 2016. Galaxy S8 Active came out in August 2017, over 1 year later.

Updates & AI

Android 6.0.1 (Marshmallow) → Android 7.0 (Nougat)

The only change here

Camera

5 MP → 8 MP front

Screen

5.1 in → 5.8 in screen

2960 x 1440

Charging & connections

USB port Micro USB, USB 2.0 → USB-C (USB version not stated by Samsung)

Fast Wireless Charging, Bluetooth v5.1

Price check

Galaxy S8 Active price not confirmed by Samsung

Not currently sold refurbished by Back Market.

Updates & AI1 change
  • Android at launch

    Android 6.0.1 (Marshmallow)›Android 7.0 (Nougat)

    What does this mean?

    The version of Android, Google's phone software, that was installed when the phone first came out. Samsung adds its own design and features on top, called One UI (TouchWiz on older phones).

    A Galaxy moves to newer Android versions through updates, so this shows where it started, not what it runs today.

Price1 unconfirmed

Price check

Galaxy S8 Active — price not confirmed by Samsung

What your Galaxy S7 active sells for

Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.

  • Starting price

    Price not confirmed by Samsung›Price not confirmed by Samsung

    What does this mean?

    What Samsung charged in the US when the phone launched, for the version with the least storage, before sales tax. Phones from before about 2014 were often priced with a two-year carrier contract.

    This is not what it costs today: check the used and refurbished links for current prices. If Samsung has not confirmed a price, the site shows "Price not confirmed by Samsung".

Camera1 gain · 1 unconfirmed
  • Digital zoom (most)

    Not stated by Samsung›Up to 8x

    What does this mean?

    The farthest the camera can zoom, with software doing the work beyond what the lenses reach. Samsung calls it Space Zoom on many models.

    Past the lens's own zoom, the camera enlarges part of the picture and relies on processing to keep it sharp, so the highest levels lose detail.

    Matters most if: You zoom far and need the photo to show fine details.

    More in the glossary →

  • Front camera

    5 MP›8 MP

    What does this mean?

    The resolution in megapixels (MP) of the selfie camera on the front.

    A higher number keeps more detail in selfies and video calls, but light and processing matter as much.

Screen2 changes
  • Screen size

    5.1 in›5.8 in

    What does this mean?

    The screen size, measured corner to corner (diagonally) in inches. 1 inch is 25.4 mm.

    Samsung measures the screen as a full rectangle, so with rounded corners the visible area is a little smaller.

  • Resolution

    2560 x 1440›2960 x 1440

    What does this mean?

    How many dots (pixels) make up the screen, written as height x width, with a name such as Full HD+ or Quad HD+.

    On screens of the same size, more pixels show text and photos in finer detail.

Design & buttons1 change · 1 unconfirmed
  • Unlock

    Fingerprint (home key)›Fingerprint, Iris Scanner

    What does this mean?

    Ways to unlock the phone with your body instead of typing a PIN: a fingerprint sensor (in the screen, the side key, the home key or on the back), face recognition, or on some older models an iris scanner.

    An ultrasonic sensor in the screen reads your finger with sound waves; others use light. Where the sensor sits changes how you unlock the phone with one hand.

  • Materials

    Not stated by Samsung›Metal frame and bumpers (high-strength aluminum); shatter-resistant screen; Gorilla Glass 5; rugged textured back cover

    What does this mean?

    What the outside of the phone is made of: the cover glass over the screen and back, and the frame around the edge, as Samsung lists them.

    Glass names such as Corning Gorilla Glass Victus or Gorilla Armor are tougher generations of glass; a titanium or aluminum frame changes the weight and feel more than the strength in daily use.

Charging & connections3 changes · 1 unconfirmed
  • USB port

    Micro USB, USB 2.0›USB-C (USB version not stated by Samsung)

    What does this mean?

    The kind of USB port Samsung lists: Micro USB on older phones, USB-C on newer ones, with a USB version such as USB 2.0 or USB 3.2. It concerns moving data over a cable, such as copying files to a computer.

    A higher USB version can copy files faster with a cable that supports it. Charging speed is listed separately.

  • Wireless charging

    Wireless Charging›Fast Wireless Charging

    What does this mean?

    Whether and how fast the phone charges on a wireless charging pad, in Samsung's words, such as Fast Wireless Charging 2.0.

    The fastest speed usually needs a matching Samsung charger. Wireless charging is slower than a cable but saves plugging in.

  • Bluetooth

    v4.2›v5.1

    What does this mean?

    Bluetooth connects wireless accessories, such as earbuds and watches, to the phone. The number, such as v5.3, is the Bluetooth version.

    Newer versions add features such as LE Audio, but your earbuds or watch need to support them too.

  • SIM card slot

    Not stated by Samsung›Yes

    What does this mean?

    A tray for the SIM card from your carrier. Some versions take two SIM cards (dual SIM).

    With a tray, you can move the SIM card from your current phone instead of getting a new one.

    Matters most if: Your carrier does not offer eSIM, or you often move a SIM card between phones.

Chip & storage2 changes · 1 unconfirmed
  • Chip

    Snapdragon 820›Qualcomm Snapdragon 835 4 x 2.35GHz + 4 x 1.9GHz

    What does this mean?

    The main processor: the part that runs apps, camera processing and on-device AI. Samsung uses its own Exynos chips in some countries and Qualcomm Snapdragon chips in others, sometimes for the same model.

    Where the chip depends on the country, the page shows a switch for the versions Samsung lists. A newer phone can have an older chip, so compare the chip names rather than the year.

    Matters most if: You are buying a model that was sold with two different chips.

    More in the glossary →

  • RAM

    4 GB›Not stated by Samsung

    What does this mean?

    RAM is the phone's short-term working memory for the apps running right now, measured in GB (gigabytes).

    More RAM lets more apps stay open in the background. RAM is separate from storage, which holds your apps, photos and files. On some Galaxy phones it depends on the storage size or the country.

  • Storage options

    32 GB›64 GB

    What does this mean?

    How much space the phone has for apps, photos, videos and files, in GB (gigabytes) or TB (terabytes; 1 TB is 1,000 GB).

    Each storage size is sold at its own price, and not every size is sold in every country. You get less usable space than the number shown, because some of it holds the phone's own software.

Swap in a different Galaxy