Device Diff

Galaxy comparisons

Galaxy Z Fold7 vs Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra

Only the differences are shown. 22 specs stay the same.

+2you gain

−0you give up

Galaxy Z Fold7 came out in July 2025. Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra came out in August 2026, over 1 year later.

Note on Galaxy Z Fold7: Battery rated 4,272mAh (Newsroom). Peak brightness from Samsung India FAQ.

Note on Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra: Samsung US: the original Galaxy Z Fold line continues as Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra. Battery rated 4,854mAh. S Pen support not stated.

Updates & AI

Android 16 → Android 17

The only change here

Battery

4400 mAh → 5000 mAh battery

The only change here

Camera

12 MP → 50 MP ultra wide

Screen

2184 x 1968 → 2504 x 2256

Charging & connections

Wired up to 25W → up to 45W

Dual-SIM: SIM 1 + eSIM / Dual eSIM (Nano-SIM (4FF), Embedded-SIM) SIM

Price check

Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra launched at $2,099.99

Updates & AI1 change
  • Android at launch

    Android 16›Android 17

    What does this mean?

    The version of Android, Google's phone software, that was installed when the phone first came out. Samsung adds its own design and features on top, called One UI (TouchWiz on older phones).

    A Galaxy moves to newer Android versions through updates, so this shows where it started, not what it runs today.

Price1 change

Price check

Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra — launched at $2,099.99

What your Galaxy Z Fold7 sells for

Links open in a new tab. Prices are set by each seller and change daily.

  • Starting price

    $1,999.99›$2,099.99+$100(both start at 256 GB)

    What does this mean?

    What Samsung charged in the US when the phone launched, for the version with the least storage, before sales tax. Phones from before about 2014 were often priced with a two-year carrier contract.

    This is not what it costs today: check the used and refurbished links for current prices. If Samsung has not confirmed a price, the site shows "Price not confirmed by Samsung".

Battery1 gain
  • Battery capacity

    4400 mAh›5000 mAh+600 mAh

    What does this mean?

    How much charge the battery holds, measured in mAh (milliamp-hours). Samsung lists a typical figure; we show the one Samsung gives.

    A bigger number stores more energy, but how long a charge lasts also depends on the screen, the chip and which features you use.

Camera1 gain · 3 unconfirmed
  • Ultra wide camera

    12 MP›50 MP

    What does this mean?

    The resolution in megapixels (MP) of the ultra wide camera: the lens that fits the most into the frame.

    Use it for group photos, rooms and landscapes when you can't step back.

    Matters most if: You shoot group photos, small rooms or landscapes.

  • Digital zoom (most)

    Not stated by Samsung›Up to 30x

    What does this mean?

    The farthest the camera can zoom, with software doing the work beyond what the lenses reach. Samsung calls it Space Zoom on many models.

    Past the lens's own zoom, the camera enlarges part of the picture and relies on processing to keep it sharp, so the highest levels lose detail.

    Matters most if: You zoom far and need the photo to show fine details.

    More in the glossary →

  • Front camera

    Not stated by Samsung›10 MP

    What does this mean?

    The resolution in megapixels (MP) of the selfie camera on the front.

    A higher number keeps more detail in selfies and video calls, but light and processing matter as much.

  • Video (best)

    Not stated by Samsung›8K

    What does this mean?

    The highest video quality the rear camera records. 4K and 8K describe the picture size (8K is larger), and fps (frames per second) is how many still images make up each second.

    Higher settings make bigger files, so long 8K or 4K 60 fps clips fill storage quickly.

    Matters most if: You film a lot.

Screen1 change · 2 unconfirmed
  • Cover screen peak brightness

    2600 nits›Not stated by Samsung

    What does this mean?

    How bright the cover screen can get at most, in nits (a unit of brightness).

    A brighter screen is easier to read in direct sunlight. Samsung gives this figure for some models only.

  • Peak brightness

    2600 nits›Not stated by Samsung

    As Samsung states it ("Peak"); Samsung does not say how it measures it, so compare it only with other Galaxy phones.

    What does this mean?

    The brightest the screen can get, in nits (a unit of screen brightness; higher is brighter), as Samsung measures it.

    A high peak brightness makes the screen easier to see in direct sunlight. Makers measure peak brightness in different ways, so compare it only between phones from the same maker.

    Matters most if: You use your phone outdoors a lot, such as for maps or photos in sunlight.

  • Resolution

    2184 x 1968›2504 x 2256

    What does this mean?

    How many dots (pixels) make up the screen, written as height x width, with a name such as Full HD+ or Quad HD+.

    On screens of the same size, more pixels show text and photos in finer detail.

Design & buttons2 changes · 1 unconfirmed
  • Size unfolded (mm)

    143.2 x 158.4 x 4.2›143.2 x 158.4 x 4.1

    What does this mean?

    The size of the phone when it is opened flat, in millimeters, as Samsung lists it.

    The last figure is the thickness of the open phone, which is much less than when it is folded.

  • Flex Mode

    Not stated by Samsung›Yes

    What does this mean?

    Samsung's name for using the phone half-folded, so it stands on its own, with some apps split between the top and bottom halves.

    Useful for video calls, photos with the phone set down and watching videos hands-free.

  • Materials

    Corning Gorilla Glass Ceramic 2 (cover)›Flex Titanium (display structure)

    What does this mean?

    What the outside of the phone is made of: the cover glass over the screen and back, and the frame around the edge, as Samsung lists them.

    Glass names such as Corning Gorilla Glass Victus or Gorilla Armor are tougher generations of glass; a titanium or aluminum frame changes the weight and feel more than the strength in daily use.

Charging & connections2 changes · 3 unconfirmed
  • Wired charging

    Up to 25W›Up to 45W

    What does this mean?

    How fast the phone charges with a cable, in Samsung's words, such as Super Fast Charging (25W or 45W). W (watts) is how much power the charger can deliver.

    The top speed needs a charger and cable that support it; recent Galaxy phones come with a cable but no charger.

    Matters most if: You often need a quick top-up before heading out.

  • Wireless charging

    Not stated by Samsung›Up to 20W

    What does this mean?

    Whether and how fast the phone charges on a wireless charging pad, in Samsung's words, such as Fast Wireless Charging 2.0.

    The fastest speed usually needs a matching Samsung charger. Wireless charging is slower than a cable but saves plugging in.

  • Wi-Fi

    Not stated by Samsung›Wi-Fi 7

    What does this mean?

    The Wi-Fi generation, such as Wi-Fi 5, Wi-Fi 6E or Wi-Fi 7. 6E and 7 can also use the 6 GHz band, which is less crowded. Older phones list only the 802.11 letters (n is Wi-Fi 4, ac is Wi-Fi 5, ax is Wi-Fi 6).

    A newer generation helps only with a router that supports it, and the 6 GHz band is not allowed in every country.

    Matters most if: You have, or plan to buy, a Wi-Fi 6E or Wi-Fi 7 router.

  • Bluetooth

    Not stated by Samsung›v6.0

    What does this mean?

    Bluetooth connects wireless accessories, such as earbuds and watches, to the phone. The number, such as v5.3, is the Bluetooth version.

    Newer versions add features such as LE Audio, but your earbuds or watch need to support them too.

  • SIM

    Dual-SIM: SIM 1 + SIM 2 / SIM 1 + eSIM / Dual eSIM (Nano-SIM (4FF), Embedded-SIM)›Dual-SIM: SIM 1 + eSIM / Dual eSIM (Nano-SIM (4FF), Embedded-SIM)

    What does this mean?

    Which SIM the phone takes: a SIM card from your carrier in a tray (nano SIM), an eSIM (a digital SIM built into the phone), or both. Samsung lists the combinations, such as "SIM 1 + eSIM".

    Whether you can use eSIM depends on your carrier and country. Some versions of a model take two SIM cards, others one SIM card and an eSIM.

    Matters most if: You travel abroad or want two phone lines on one phone.

    More in the glossary →

Chip & storage1 change
  • Chip

    Snapdragon 8 Elite for Galaxy›Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy

    What does this mean?

    The main processor: the part that runs apps, camera processing and on-device AI. Samsung uses its own Exynos chips in some countries and Qualcomm Snapdragon chips in others, sometimes for the same model.

    Where the chip depends on the country, the page shows a switch for the versions Samsung lists. A newer phone can have an older chip, so compare the chip names rather than the year.

    Matters most if: You are buying a model that was sold with two different chips.

    More in the glossary →

Swap in a different Galaxy